Is the United States not proof that minarchism can't work? - Politics Forum.org | PoFo

Wandering the information superhighway, he came upon the last refuge of civilization, PoFo, the only forum on the internet ...

Classical liberalism. The individual before the state, non-interventionist, free-market based society.
Forum rules: No one line posts please.
I just wanted to point something out to minarchists here:

Every single attempt at minarchism in history, at least of those that I am aware, has resulted in the most massive empires in history. I am not an expert on history aside from reading about it in my free time, so feel free to correct me here, but aside from the United States, there was also the British Empire and the Roman Empire. Rome, the eternal empire, had a government created with the sole purpose of protecting a growing merchant class.

Still, no Roman could dream of being able to monitor its citizens activities nearly every second of every day, prying into their lives the way the U.S. does. An odd state of affairs, considering the way the U.S. started. A group of philosophers bent on creating liberty, in an opportunity that will never come again (at least not any time soon) to create a new kind of society in a new land.

I would submit to you, good sirs, that perhaps there is a moral hazard involved with betraying the non aggression principle. That if you decide to open pandora's box and dance with the devil, the result will not be what you intend, and no amount of rationalizing will change that.
Rothbardian wrote:A group of philosophers bent on creating liberty,