Waiting, preparing, taking action, laying the foundation? - Politics Forum.org | PoFo

Wandering the information superhighway, he came upon the last refuge of civilization, PoFo, the only forum on the internet ...

Talking about and organise marches, demonstrations, writing to your local Member of Parliament etc.

Moderator: PoFo Political Circus Mods

I have a question for those who consider themselves supporters of revolutionary change in world economic and political systems. (Everyone who does not fit this description, thanks for reading. I hope I don't offend you if I invite you out of this discussion.)

How do you conceive of your role in the revolution? I was watching a talk by Zizek today on what it means to be a revolutionary, and I wondered about all the people in the audience, all the people who write and think and speak about revolutionary theory, practice, and methods. (Including myself.)

I'm a teacher, and I really believe that information and awareness are the most urgent ingredients needed for transformative change in the world today. But sometimes I feel like it's not enough. All the theorizing and conversating seems well and good, but it's hard to shake the feeling that it's simple navel-gazing. Like these are ways to keep us spinning our wheels while nothing really changes.

On the other hand, I can only laugh at concepts like the Attentat, as promoted by Goldman and Berkman. (And not just because I believe that violence of this sort is morally unjustified.) The idea of jump-starting a revolution while so many folks lack a theoretical awareness is just absurd.

So, are you waiting, preparing, taking action, laying the foundation for future action, or what?
By Verv
No revolution will happen while the middle class has money in their wallets.

Wait.
By Suska
I'm treading water, you can't really see what's going on while you're swimming. I think I've got a good view where I'm at, but it doesn't always look hopeful.
By Scartol